Lakehead University

Athletics Department

Lakehead Wrestling Places 3rd and 4th at OUA's

February 14th, 2011

Author: Hugh Mullally

In a action-packed day of wrestling at the Thunderdome, crowds were wowed as bodies flung, heads butted and bodies were ground into the three mats that were home to the OUA Wrestling Championships at Lakehead University on Saturday. After all was said and done, the Guelph Gryphons were named as OUA champs on the Men's side (although only by 1 point over the Western Mustangs), while the Brock Badgers' Women's team came out at the top of their field. The home Lakehead team finished 3rd in women's and 4th in men's. Individual award winners were Steve Takahashi, Western (Male MVP and Rookie of the Year), Jasmine Mian, Brock (Female MVP), and Kesley Gsell, Guelph (Female Rookie of the Year).

Standout performances from Lakehead wrestlers included:

  • Nicole Plummer's dominance in the 82 kg division, which she swept through easily, winning the gold medal by superiority over her opponent (6-0, 6-0).

  • Gaston Tardif went unchallenged in the gold medal round, due to forfeit by his opponent from Brock.

  • Aislynn Torfason won her gold medal match by successfully scoring on a 3rd round 'clinch' over her longtime rival Liz Sera from Western.

  • Perhaps the loudest ovation of the day came when Thunder Bay native Jason Bresele captured the gold medal in the men's 68 kg division.

  • LU's Trevor Steffler, who had been the tournament representative in the 130 kg, or heavyweight division for only a few months, speared his way to a bronze medal in dramatic fashion against his opponent from Western in the final 30 seconds of the match, thus earning him a trip to nationals. Trevor's sister Laura was also here, wrestling for Brock, and finished 2nd in the 63 kg.

Other LU Wrestlers that will compete in two weeks at the Thunderdome include:

  • Jes Smith (2nd, 55 kg)

  • Karleah Bonk (3rd place, 63 kg won by pin)

  • Jessica Bershatsky (3nd, 48 kg)

  • Alexi Kreps (3rd, 51 kg)

  • Colten Woznow (3rd, 90 kg)

  • Dustin Helwig (3rd, 54kg)

Wrestling fans and athletes from across Canada look next to the CIS wrestling championships that will be hosted at the Thunderdome in 2 weeks. (February 25-26)

The final team standings  are as follows:

Men (point totals)

  1. Guelph (65)

  2. Western (64)

  3. Brock (60)

  4. Lakehead (58)

  5. McMaster (56)

  6. Toronto (26)

  7. Queen's (14)

Women (point totals)

  1. Brock (60)

  2. Western (57)

  3. Lakehead (46)

  4. Guelph (32)

  5. McMaster (26)

  6. Queen's (19)

  7. Toronto (11)

Scoring Legend: Gold = 10 points, Silver = 8 points, Bronze = 6 points, 4th = 5 points, 5th= 4 points, 6th= 3 points


Major Award Winners:

  • MVP Male (Keegan Award) - Steve Takahashi, Western

  • MVP Female - Jasmine Mian, Brock

  • Rookie of the Year (M) - Steven Takahashi, Western

  • Rookie of the Year (F) - Kesley Gsell, Guelph

The Guelph Male Champions

The Brock Female Champions




Counter: 861

Last Edited: February 14th, 2011

Visit our General News Archive to see older articles.

Article Comments

No Comments Yet!

To add your comments to this article, fill out the following form.